Yeah, High School Sucked, but You Should be Glad You Suffered Through It

As my senior year of high school was drawing to a close, one could usually find me rolling my eyes at others when they tearfully expressed how much they were going to miss high school, often muttering, “anybody who says that high school was the best time of their life must have an incredibly boring life….” During my four arduous years of high school, my only goal was to get out as soon as possible, and to not look back once I got there.

I still agree with that statement, but now that I’m out of high school, I’ve gained some valuable insight on how valuable those four years were, even though they’re some less-than-happy memories.

HOW TO WORK WITH PEOPLE YOU DISLIKE

“Hate” is a strong word, but it’s no secret that during high school (and college, too) you’re going to be stuck working with people that you don’t have a particularly strong liking for. When faced with this situation, there are two types of people: those who complain about who they’re working with, and those who suck it up and try to make the best of the situation. (Hint: always try to be the latter one.) In high school I was always the latter, and as much as I hated group projects as a whole, and especially being in groups with people that I didn’t like, it’s a situation that teaches you many valuable lessons. Firstly, and most obviously, you learn how to work and cooperate with people you don’t like, which is something that you’ll always have to deal with, especially later on in the worksphere. Secondly, working with people you don’t like helps you develop your own leadership skills, and lastly, it helps you become a more efficient worker if you’re working with people who are known to be slackers or don’t finish their work.

EFFECTIVE TIME USAGE

If you’re a well-rounded student,  you’re probably balancing multiple AP classes, after-school sports, and maybe even a part-time job all at once. With all of that on your plate, effectively using your time is probably the most important skill you could ever learn in high school. Planning out what time you’re going to study and do homework is extremely important, as well as getting enough sleep. Realistically, I don’t think most high schoolers plan out their study times, but I’ve seen some breakfasts scarfed down in record-time just so my friends could get those fifteen minutes of extra sleep, and if that isn’t effective use of time, I don’t know what is!

NOT CARING WHAT OTHERS THINK

Let’s face it: high school can be a hellhole of sweat, acne, frizzy hair, braces, and just about anything else that can cause low self-esteem. Personally, during freshman year I was that frizzy-haired nerd who was obssesed with how I looked and fantisized about the idea of being popular, but as high school progressed, I stopped caring about kind of boxes I needed to sort myself into in order to fit in, and I started just being myself. Trust me, it’s the greatest revelation you’ll ever have.

Even if you’re like me and you  hated high school, or thought those entire four years were worthless, you have to be thankful for these little skills that high school inadvertandtly taught you!

Leave a Reply

